Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 2h 25min


Before the arrival of its Spielberg-directed successor next year, revisit the first, Oscar-winning film of the game-changing 60s musical.

Shifting the timeless tragedy of Romeo and Juliet to the racially tense neighbourhoods of Manhattan, the story follows star-crossed lovers Tony (Richard Beymer), valued member of the white American Jet gang, and Maria (Natalie Wood), connected by blood to the Puerto-Rican Shark gang. Both long to escape their violent, suffocating surroundings together, but this is made harder by the increasingly vicious power-struggles between their families, who in turn face the aggression of the police.

Already a huge success on Broadway, the film shows how the musical electrified its form in every department: Arthur Laurents and Stephen Sondheim combine a classic love story with a witty, still-modern treatment of social issues, animated by Leonard Bernstein’s thrillingly inventive score. Most amazingly, Jerome Robbins transferred his own choreography to the actual streets of New York, creating a style that seamlessly fused raw urban aggression with artful balletic precision. The result is a film musical unlike any other, charged with palpable danger and energy offset by a tender and melodious romance.

Saturday 28th December
03:00 pm
Saturday 7th December
01:00 pm
Monday 30th December
01:00 pm
Saturday 7th December
07:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 8th December
11:30 am
Saturday 28th December
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 8th December
05:00 pm
Monday 9th December
07:30 pm
Thursday 12th December
01:00 pm
Wednesday 18th December
01:00 pm
Tuesday 10th December
12:00 pm
Tuesday 10th December
07:30 pm
Wednesday 11th December
01:00 pm
Wednesday 11th December
07:30 pm
Thursday 19th December
01:00 pm
Friday 13th December
12:00 pm
Friday 13th December
07:30 pm
+ intro
Monday 16th December
01:00 pm
Monday 16th December
07:30 pm
Saturday 14th December
01:00 pm
Saturday 14th December
07:00 pm
Sunday 15th December
01:00 pm
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 24th December
12:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Sunday 15th December
08:50 pm
Tuesday 17th December
07:30 pm
Wednesday 18th December
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Friday 20th December
05:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Friday 20th December
08:50 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 21st December
05:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 21st December
08:30 pm
Single Seats Only
Monday 23rd December
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Sunday 22nd December
12:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 22nd December
05:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Monday 23rd December
01:00 pm
Tuesday 24th December
05:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 22nd December
08:50 pm
Friday 27th December
01:00 pm
Last Few Seats
Saturday 28th December
11:00 am
Last Few Seats
Sunday 29th December
12:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 29th December
04:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Tuesday 31st December
01:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 28th December
03:00 pm
Tuesday 31st December
05:30 pm