Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 1h 29mins


Part of the ‘A Cinematic Odyssey: Postcards from Europe’ strand.

Over half a century after its initial release, Jacques Demy’s transcendentally gorgeous musical remains timeless.

In a French port town during the late 50s, umbrella salesgirl Geneviève (Catherine Deneuve) and auto-mechanic Guy (Nino Castelnuovo) are deeply in love, and inseparable. Military service for Guy and struggling business for Geneviève test this, and each one vows to wait for the other – but life has many ways of interfering.

On paper, the story may seem insubstantial, but Demy and composer Michel Legrand quite literally make it sing: every word of the film is sung without the least hint of awkwardness, giving even the most mundane situation a lyrical magic. At the same time, the film does not neglect realism, showing an unusually great emotional maturity in its plot and characters and grounding every song in a recognisably human world. Likewise, the photography captures tangible urban locations in a vividly colourful but not prettified light. Demy’s film does not deny the uplifting fantasy of the movie musical or the crushing reality of real life, but blends both together in a captivating way, creating a masterpiece unlike any other.

The film will be introduced by Dr Paul Sutton, who will stay for the end of the film for a post- screening discussion in the auditorium.


Sunday 29th December
08:00 pm
Saturday 7th December
01:00 pm
Monday 30th December
01:00 pm
Saturday 7th December
07:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 8th December
11:30 am
Saturday 28th December
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 8th December
05:00 pm
Monday 9th December
07:30 pm
Thursday 12th December
01:00 pm
Wednesday 18th December
01:00 pm
Tuesday 10th December
12:00 pm
Tuesday 10th December
07:30 pm
Wednesday 11th December
01:00 pm
Wednesday 11th December
07:30 pm
Thursday 19th December
01:00 pm
Friday 13th December
12:00 pm
Friday 13th December
07:30 pm
+ intro
Monday 16th December
01:00 pm
Monday 16th December
07:30 pm
Saturday 14th December
01:00 pm
Saturday 14th December
07:00 pm
Sunday 15th December
01:00 pm
Last Few Seats
Tuesday 24th December
12:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Sunday 15th December
08:50 pm
Tuesday 17th December
07:30 pm
Wednesday 18th December
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Friday 20th December
05:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Friday 20th December
08:50 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 21st December
05:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 21st December
08:30 pm
Single Seats Only
Monday 23rd December
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Sunday 22nd December
12:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 22nd December
05:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Monday 23rd December
01:00 pm
Tuesday 24th December
05:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 22nd December
08:50 pm
Friday 27th December
01:00 pm
Last Few Seats
Saturday 28th December
11:00 am
Last Few Seats
Sunday 29th December
12:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 29th December
04:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Tuesday 31st December
01:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 28th December
03:00 pm
Tuesday 31st December
05:30 pm