Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 1hr 52m

“It’s a dangerous business going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” So said one John Ronald Reuel Tolkien in his masterwork The Lord of The Rings.


The warning could apply as much to a young Tolkien himself (the ever-ascending Nicholas Hoult) as to the adventurous Frodo Baggins. Throughout his formative years, Tolkien’s life was shaped by the world around him, from being orphaned at a young age to seeing first-hand the industrialisation of the midlands, to the callous destruction of the First World War.


Surrogate fathers (Colm Meaney as Father Francis Morgan), close fellowships of friends (his boyhood secret society known as the Tea Club and Barrovian Society) and most importantly, the love of Tolkien’s life, Edith Bratt (Lily Collins), all inspired the world that would later become known as Middle Earth.


Director Dome Karukoski (the acclaimed Finnish director making his English language debut) has created a visually stunning and heartfelt film that works both as a biography of Tolkien’s early years and as a history of the influences that shaped his writing.

Tuesday 2nd July
07:30 pm
Thursday 20th June
07:30 pm
Friday 21st June
05:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Tuesday 25th June
12:00 pm
Wednesday 26th June
01:00 pm
Wednesday 26th June
07:30 pm
Single Seats Only
Wednesday 3rd July
01:00 pm
Wednesday 3rd July
07:30 pm
Thursday 4th July
07:30 pm
Wednesday 10th July
07:30 pm
Friday 21st June
09:00 pm
Saturday 22nd June
01:00 pm
Saturday 13th July
01:00 pm
Saturday 22nd June
07:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 23rd June
06:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Thursday 27th June
07:30 pm
Thursday 4th July
01:00 pm
Saturday 29th June
01:00 pm
Sunday 30th June
01:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 30th June
06:00 pm
Monday 1st July
07:30 pm
Thursday 25th July
07:30 pm
Tuesday 2nd July
07:30 pm
Saturday 6th July
01:00 pm
Sunday 7th July
01:00 pm
Sunday 28th July
01:00 pm
Saturday 6th July
07:00 pm
Sunday 7th July
06:00 pm
Wednesday 10th July
01:00 pm
Monday 8th July
07:30 pm
Thursday 11th July
01:00 pm
Tuesday 9th July
07:30 pm
Thursday 11th July
07:30 pm
Friday 12th July
01:00 pm
Friday 12th July
07:30 pm
Wednesday 17th July
07:30 pm
Sunday 14th July
01:00 pm
Tuesday 16th July
12:00 pm
Wednesday 17th July
01:00 pm
Tuesday 23rd July
12:00 pm
Tuesday 23rd July
07:30 pm
Thursday 18th July
01:00 pm
Sunday 21st July
06:00 pm
Thursday 18th July
07:30 pm
Friday 19th July
01:00 pm
Saturday 20th July
01:00 pm
Sunday 21st July
01:00 pm
Saturday 27th July
12:00 pm
Monday 29th July
10:30 am
Friday 19th July
07:30 pm
Saturday 20th July
05:00 pm
Thursday 25th July
01:00 pm
Saturday 20th July
08:45 pm
Wednesday 24th July
01:00 pm
Wednesday 24th July
07:30 pm
Friday 26th July
01:00 pm
Saturday 27th July
08:45 pm
Sunday 28th July
05:00 pm
Monday 29th July
02:00 pm
Tuesday 30th July
12:00 pm
Wednesday 31st July
01:00 pm
Friday 26th July
07:30 pm
Saturday 27th July
05:00 pm
Sunday 28th July
08:45 pm
Tuesday 30th July
07:30 pm
Wednesday 31st July
07:30 pm
Monday 29th July
07:30 pm