Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 2h02m


Warning – no babies for 15 Cert.


From Céline Sciamma, the acclaimed director of Girlhood and Water Lilies, comes a Palme D’or nominated tale of forbidden love.


Set in 1770s France, young artist Marianne (Noémie Merlant) is employed to travel to a remote island off the coast of Brittany and paint a portrait of headstrong ingenue Héloïse (Adèle Haenel), who is to be married off to a Milanese nobleman, assuming her depiction meets his approval. Héloïse, fierce in her independence, refuses to sit for the painting, so Marianne poses as a companion hired to join Héloïse in her daily walks wherein she might memorise her subject’s features. However, Héloïse starts to notice the young woman’s intense scrutiny.


In creating this elegiac tale of fleeting passions, director Sciamma took inspiration from the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice, in which Orpheus must lead his wife back out of the underworld without ever looking behind him to see if she is following. Sciamma suggests that sometimes it is impossible not to look back.


Incredible cinematography from Claire Mathon captures the wild, rugged beauty of the Brittany island setting (actually filmed on the Peninsula of Saint-Pierre-Quiberon) whilst maintaining Sciamma’s minimalist aesthetic and mirroring the slow-burn storytelling.

Tuesday 31st March
07:30 pm
Saturday 29th February
01:00 pm
Sunday 1st March
01:00 pm
Selling Well
Wednesday 4th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Saturday 7th March
03:45 pm
Selling Well
Thursday 26th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Sunday 1st March
06:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Monday 2nd March
01:00 pm
Tuesday 3rd March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Saturday 7th March
08:00 pm
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 11th March
01:00 pm
Thursday 12th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Wednesday 18th March
01:00 pm
Monday 2nd March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Sunday 8th March
01:00 pm
Selling Well
Tuesday 10th March
12:00 pm
Tuesday 10th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Friday 13th March
12:00 pm
Wednesday 4th March
01:00 pm
Friday 6th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Wednesday 11th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Saturday 14th March
07:00 pm
Selling Well
Tuesday 17th March
12:00 pm
Thursday 5th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Friday 6th March
12:00 pm
Monday 9th March
01:00 pm
Monday 9th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Saturday 7th March
12:00 pm
Sunday 8th March
06:30 pm
Selling Well
Thursday 12th March
01:00 pm
Monday 23rd March
01:00 pm
Tuesday 24th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Monday 30th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Friday 13th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Sunday 15th March
01:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Tuesday 17th March
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Saturday 21st March
07:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Wednesday 25th March
07:30 pm
Single Seats Only
Thursday 26th March
01:00 pm
Sunday 15th March
06:00 pm
Thursday 19th March
01:00 pm
Monday 16th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Wednesday 18th March
07:30 pm
Selling Well
Thursday 19th March
07:30 pm
Friday 20th March
12:00 pm
Sunday 22nd March
03:30 pm
Selling Well
Wednesday 25th March
01:00 pm
Friday 27th March
05:00 pm
Saturday 28th March
07:00 pm
Selling Well
Sunday 29th March
12:00 pm
Selling Well
Tuesday 31st March
12:00 pm
Friday 20th March
05:00 pm
Saturday 21st March
01:00 pm
Selling Well
Sunday 22nd March
11:30 am
Sunday 22nd March
08:00 pm
Selling Well
Monday 23rd March
07:30 pm
Tuesday 24th March
12:00 pm
Friday 27th March
08:45 pm
Sunday 29th March
04:00 pm
Monday 30th March
01:00 pm