Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 1h 53m

Warning – no babies for 15 Cert.

***Please note: The screening on SUNDAY 22nd at 5pm will have a short intro from Dr Paul Sutton as part of our A Cinematic Odyssey: Postcards from Europe strand***

For his new film, Pedro Almodóvar turns his camera inward for a typically stylish, comic and personal journey.


Physically and creatively declining, aged director Salvador Mallo (Antonio Banderas) reconnects with former friend and leading man Alberto Crespo (Asier Etxeandía). In his company once more a torrent of memories and unresolved issues surface. Chief among these are his once radiant, neglected mother (Penélope Cruz), his slow discovery of his homosexuality (including a similarly discarded lover, and his tense relationship with religion, all conveyed in vivid flashbacks. Armed with new revelations, Salvador sets out to make amends with the loose ends of his life, gearing himself to work again as he does so.


Almodóvar succeeds in taking the long, rich tradition of the autobiopic and harnessing it to his own ends and moods: rich in stylistic flourishes as ever, the film retains an emotional realism and honesty anchored by thoughtful writing and a deeply felt, untheatrical performance from Banderas. The film’s depth of insight and generosity of spirit are so great that it does not seem like navel-gazing, but more like a spiritual confession, though not a dry or tortured one.

Sunday 22nd September
05:00 pm
Monday 23rd September
01:00 pm
Monday 23rd September
07:30 pm
Wednesday 25th September
01:00 pm
Wednesday 25th September
07:30 pm
Tuesday 17th September
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Thursday 19th September
01:00 pm
Sunday 22nd September
08:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Friday 27th September
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Wednesday 2nd October
07:30 pm
Thursday 3rd October
07:30 pm
Saturday 12th October
07:00 pm
Wednesday 18th September
01:00 pm
Friday 20th September
01:00 pm
Friday 20th September
07:30 pm
Saturday 21st September
07:00 pm
Thursday 26th September
01:00 pm
Monday 30th September
01:00 pm
Monday 30th September
07:30 pm
Wednesday 16th October
01:00 pm
Thursday 19th September
07:30 pm
Saturday 21st September
01:00 pm
Sunday 22nd September
01:00 pm
Monday 28th October
01:00 pm
Sunday 22nd September
05:00 pm
Monday 23rd September
01:00 pm
Monday 23rd September
07:30 pm
Wednesday 25th September
01:00 pm
Wednesday 25th September
07:30 pm
Tuesday 24th September
12:00 pm
Tuesday 24th September
07:30 pm
Sunday 29th September
01:00 pm
Thursday 3rd October
01:00 pm
Thursday 26th September
07:30 pm
Friday 27th September
01:00 pm
Tuesday 1st October
07:30 pm
Saturday 28th September
01:00 pm
Saturday 19th October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 30th October
11:00 am
Saturday 28th September
07:00 pm
Wednesday 2nd October
01:00 pm
Tuesday 22nd October
12:00 pm
Friday 4th October
01:00 pm
Friday 4th October
07:30 pm
Saturday 5th October
01:00 pm
Tuesday 29th October
11:00 am
Saturday 5th October
07:00 pm
Thursday 10th October
07:30 pm
Sunday 6th October
01:00 pm
Monday 7th October
07:30 pm
Wednesday 9th October
01:00 pm
Sunday 6th October
06:00 pm
Monday 7th October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 9th October
07:30 pm
Thursday 10th October
01:00 pm
Friday 11th October
01:00 pm
Friday 11th October
07:30 pm
Sunday 13th October
11:00 am
Sunday 13th October
03:00 pm
Tuesday 15th October
12:00 pm
Tuesday 15th October
07:30 pm
Thursday 17th October
11:00 am
Thursday 17th October
03:00 pm
Thursday 17th October
07:30 pm
Sunday 20th October
06:00 pm
Wednesday 23rd October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 23rd October
07:30 pm
Thursday 24th October
07:30 pm
Wednesday 30th October
03:30 pm
Monday 14th October
01:00 pm
Monday 14th October
07:30 pm
Wednesday 16th October
07:30 pm
Friday 18th October
01:00 pm
Friday 18th October
07:30 pm
Friday 25th October
01:00 pm
Sunday 27th October
08:45 pm
Tuesday 29th October
03:00 pm
Saturday 19th October
07:00 pm
Sunday 20th October
01:00 pm
Monday 21st October
01:00 pm
Monday 21st October
07:30 pm
Thursday 24th October
01:00 pm
Tuesday 22nd October
07:30 pm
Saturday 26th October
01:00 pm
Sunday 27th October
05:00 pm
Saturday 26th October
07:00 pm
Thursday 31st October
11:00 am
Thursday 31st October
03:30 pm
Thursday 31st October
08:00 pm