Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Main Feature run time: 1hr 25m
+ Short film & Q&A

Canadian filmmakers Nova Ami and Velcrow Ripper approach climate change from a fresh angle in this pensive and poetic documentary.


Eschewing the well-worn road of simply quoting statistics and interviewing talking-heads, Ami and Ripper instead deploy a sequence of arresting visual metaphors to explore the changing nature of our planet. They travel the world to capture breath-taking shots of some of the Earth’s most vulnerable habitats, interweaving these scenes with work from a host of radical ecological artists. The various human-like installations and painted figures raise questions of our place in the world, while the astonishing shots of Monarch butterflies—a central metaphor in the film—highlight the core message: that our planet is beautiful and fragile, but also capable of transformation.


The pair decided to make the film following Typhoon Haiyan, which hit the Philippines in 2013 and killed more than 6,000 people. Their sense of urgency is clear, as they open with a terrifying array of disasters, from hurricanes and forest fires to large-scale industry stripping the landscape. But slowly, these images transform into something more hopeful. ‘We’re caterpillars right now,’ explains the voiceover. ‘I think we could morph into beautiful winged creatures.’


****We are thrilled to continue our annual partnership with the SUStAINABILITY festival 2019, now in its fourth year.

Tickets will be at matinée prices for this special event.

Find out more here: https://sustainablestalbans.org****


Sunday 26th May
06:30 pm
Tuesday 23rd April
07:30 pm
Wednesday 24th April
01:00 pm
Wednesday 24th April
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Monday 29th April
07:30 pm
Tuesday 7th May
12:00 pm
Tuesday 7th May
07:30 pm
Thursday 16th May
02:00 pm
Friday 26th April
05:00 pm
Friday 26th April
09:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 28th April
01:00 pm
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 1st May
07:30 pm
Sunday 5th May
01:00 pm
Monday 6th May
07:30 pm
Wednesday 15th May
01:00 pm
Saturday 27th April
02:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Saturday 27th April
07:00 pm
Thursday 2nd May
07:30 pm
Wednesday 8th May
01:00 pm
Friday 3rd May
05:00 pm
Saturday 4th May
02:00 pm
Sunday 5th May
06:00 pm
Monday 6th May
02:00 pm
Friday 10th May
05:00 pm
Saturday 11th May
02:00 pm
Tuesday 28th May
12:00 pm
Friday 3rd May
09:00 pm
Saturday 4th May
07:00 pm
Thursday 9th May
02:00 pm
Thursday 9th May
07:30 pm
Tuesday 14th May
12:00 pm
Sunday 12th May
01:00 pm
Thursday 16th May
07:30 pm
Monday 13th May
02:00 pm
Monday 13th May
07:30 pm
Wednesday 15th May
07:30 pm
Monday 20th May
07:30 pm
Friday 17th May
05:00 pm
Saturday 18th May
02:00 pm
Sunday 19th May
06:00 pm
Monday 20th May
02:00 pm
Tuesday 21st May
07:30 pm
Wednesday 22nd May
01:00 pm
Thursday 23rd May
07:30 pm
Friday 17th May
09:15 pm
Saturday 18th May
07:00 pm
Sunday 19th May
01:00 pm
Thursday 23rd May
02:00 pm
Monday 27th May
07:30 pm
Tuesday 21st May
12:00 pm
Saturday 25th May
05:00 pm
Friday 24th May
05:00 pm
Saturday 25th May
09:00 pm
Sunday 26th May
01:00 pm
Monday 27th May
02:00 pm
Thursday 30th May
08:15 pm
Saturday 25th May
01:00 pm
Tuesday 28th May
07:30 pm
Thursday 30th May
05:00 pm
Wednesday 29th May
01:00 pm
Friday 31st May
02:00 pm
Wednesday 29th May
07:30 pm
Thursday 30th May
12:00 pm