Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 1h 42min

Nick Broomfield’s new documentary uncovers the fascinating and moving story of the relationship between Leonard Cohen and his first lover and inspiration, Marianne Ihlen.


Known as the director of acclaimed films on Tupac, Kurt Cobain, and Whitney Houston, Broomfield’s new feature strikes a more personal note, having been a first-hand witness to its leads’ affair. On the Greek artist’s colony of Hydra in 1960, Cohen, a failed novelist with a fear of performing in public, met the Norwegian mother and muse, then in the company of her son and a younger, polygamous, writer. After a brief, sunny, idyll on the island, the couple started to separate when Cohen returned to Montreal, where he found success and recognition as a singer-songwriter that parted them further, as both youth and the 60s ebbed away.


Thanks to plentiful archive footage, and its director’s personal involvement with his subjects, the film manages a poignant intimacy with its subjects, without sentimentalising them or the times which they inhabited, as well as thoughtfully exploring the theme of the artist and muse.

Wednesday 9th October
07:30 pm
Thursday 10th October
01:00 pm
Tuesday 17th September
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Thursday 19th September
01:00 pm
Sunday 22nd September
08:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Friday 27th September
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Wednesday 2nd October
07:30 pm
Thursday 3rd October
07:30 pm
Saturday 12th October
07:00 pm
Wednesday 18th September
01:00 pm
Friday 20th September
01:00 pm
Friday 20th September
07:30 pm
Saturday 21st September
07:00 pm
Thursday 26th September
01:00 pm
Monday 30th September
01:00 pm
Monday 30th September
07:30 pm
Wednesday 16th October
01:00 pm
Thursday 19th September
07:30 pm
Saturday 21st September
01:00 pm
Sunday 22nd September
01:00 pm
Monday 28th October
01:00 pm
Sunday 22nd September
05:00 pm
Monday 23rd September
01:00 pm
Monday 23rd September
07:30 pm
Wednesday 25th September
01:00 pm
Wednesday 25th September
07:30 pm
Tuesday 24th September
12:00 pm
Tuesday 24th September
07:30 pm
Sunday 29th September
01:00 pm
Thursday 3rd October
01:00 pm
Thursday 26th September
07:30 pm
Friday 27th September
01:00 pm
Tuesday 1st October
07:30 pm
Saturday 28th September
01:00 pm
Saturday 19th October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 30th October
11:00 am
Saturday 28th September
07:00 pm
Wednesday 2nd October
01:00 pm
Tuesday 22nd October
12:00 pm
Friday 4th October
01:00 pm
Friday 4th October
07:30 pm
Saturday 5th October
01:00 pm
Tuesday 29th October
11:00 am
Saturday 5th October
07:00 pm
Thursday 10th October
07:30 pm
Sunday 6th October
01:00 pm
Monday 7th October
07:30 pm
Wednesday 9th October
01:00 pm
Sunday 6th October
06:00 pm
Monday 7th October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 9th October
07:30 pm
Thursday 10th October
01:00 pm
Friday 11th October
01:00 pm
Friday 11th October
07:30 pm
Sunday 13th October
11:00 am
Sunday 13th October
03:00 pm
Tuesday 15th October
12:00 pm
Tuesday 15th October
07:30 pm
Thursday 17th October
11:00 am
Thursday 17th October
03:00 pm
Thursday 17th October
07:30 pm
Sunday 20th October
06:00 pm
Wednesday 23rd October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 23rd October
07:30 pm
Thursday 24th October
07:30 pm
Wednesday 30th October
03:30 pm
Monday 14th October
01:00 pm
Monday 14th October
07:30 pm
Wednesday 16th October
07:30 pm
Friday 18th October
01:00 pm
Friday 18th October
07:30 pm
Friday 25th October
01:00 pm
Sunday 27th October
08:45 pm
Tuesday 29th October
03:00 pm
Saturday 19th October
07:00 pm
Sunday 20th October
01:00 pm
Monday 21st October
01:00 pm
Monday 21st October
07:30 pm
Thursday 24th October
01:00 pm
Tuesday 22nd October
07:30 pm
Saturday 26th October
01:00 pm
Sunday 27th October
05:00 pm
Saturday 26th October
07:00 pm
Thursday 31st October
11:00 am
Thursday 31st October
03:30 pm
Thursday 31st October
08:00 pm