Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 2hr 6m

Director Nadine Labaki deploys improvised scenes and first-time actors to heartbreaking effect in this searing, Oscar-nominated work of social realism.


Twelve-year old Zain (Zain Al Rafeea) despises his parents Souad and Selim (Kawsar Al Haddad and Fadi Yousef) for marrying his younger sister off in a venal attempt to make money. Incensed, he runs away to try his chances on the streets of Beirut, where he befriends Ethiopian refugee Rahil (Yordanos Shiferaw) and her infant son Yonas. Rahil’s kindly nature provides the perfect contrast to his apathetic parents. But as Zain and his friends are caught in the machinations of shady businessman Aspro (Alaa Chouchnieh), his fury increases in the face of relentless, systematic cruelty. When he winds up in prison, Zain plots revenge by suing his parents for having him.


Labaki is unflinching in her depiction of deprivation, while her ingenious use of novice actors lends the work an air of authenticity. Al Rafeea—a refugee and illiterate at the time of production—delivers an unbelievable debut performance as the downtrodden lead. Despite moments of tenderness and humour, his righteous anger haunts the viewer long after the credits roll.


Tuesday 16th April
07:30 pm
Saturday 23rd March
02:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Monday 8th April
02:00 pm
Thursday 11th April
12:30 pm
Saturday 23rd March
07:00 pm
Sold Out
Wednesday 3rd April
01:00 pm
Wednesday 3rd April
07:30 pm
Saturday 13th April
09:15 pm
Sunday 24th March
01:00 pm
Wednesday 27th March
01:00 pm
Wednesday 27th March
07:30 pm
Sunday 24th March
06:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Monday 15th April
07:30 pm
Monday 25th March
02:00 pm
Tuesday 26th March
12:00 pm
Tuesday 26th March
07:30 pm
Single Seats Only
Sunday 31st March
01:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Thursday 4th April
07:30 pm
Wednesday 17th April
02:00 pm
Thursday 28th March
02:00 pm
Warning - no babies for 15 cert.
Thursday 28th March
07:30 pm
Friday 29th March
05:00 pm
Saturday 30th March
07:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Saturday 30th March
02:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Saturday 27th April
02:00 pm
Sunday 31st March
06:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Monday 1st April
02:00 pm
Monday 1st April
07:30 pm
Sunday 7th April
01:00 pm
Saturday 20th April
07:00 pm
Tuesday 2nd April
12:00 pm
Tuesday 2nd April
07:30 pm
Thursday 4th April
02:00 pm
Monday 22nd April
02:00 pm
Friday 5th April
05:00 pm
Friday 5th April
09:15 pm
Saturday 6th April
07:00 pm
Sunday 14th April
01:00 pm
Thursday 18th April
09:00 pm
Saturday 6th April
02:00 pm
Wednesday 10th April
02:00 pm
Monday 15th April
02:00 pm
Tuesday 9th April
01:00 pm
Tuesday 9th April
07:30 pm
Wednesday 10th April
07:30 pm
Friday 12th April
05:00 pm
Friday 12th April
09:00 pm
Tuesday 16th April
01:00 pm
Saturday 13th April
05:00 pm
Sunday 14th April
06:00 pm
Tuesday 16th April
07:30 pm
Wednesday 17th April
07:30 pm
Thursday 25th April
02:00 pm
Thursday 18th April
05:00 pm
Friday 19th April
05:00 pm
Friday 19th April
09:00 pm
Tuesday 23rd April
12:00 pm
Tuesday 30th April
07:30 pm
Tuesday 23rd April
07:30 pm
Wednesday 24th April
01:00 pm
Wednesday 24th April
07:30 pm
Monday 29th April
07:30 pm
Friday 26th April
05:00 pm
Friday 26th April
09:00 pm
Sunday 28th April
01:00 pm
Saturday 27th April
07:00 pm