Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 1hr 43m

This is the official documentary about maverick Manchester comedian Frank Sidebottom, and the life and art of his creator Chris Sievey, lending an ear to those who knew the man beneath the mask.



Sidebottom was an unshakable presence in English popular culture from 1984 until his creator’s death in 2010. Speaking and singing in a nasal Lancastrian accent, he traded in a class of outsider art that skirted the line between quaint and sinister.


The early part of the film offers an engrossing study of the creative fecundity that gathered around Manchester in the post-punk years. Sievey was a furious Beatles fan who alternated the construction of weird fanzine-like material with the writing of punchy, power-pop songs for The Freshies.


Steve Sullivan’s film unearths a fascinating haul of archive footage. Sievey and his long-suffering, still-tolerant wife seem to have lived a happy – if mad – life in the early days.


John Cooper Clarke and Mark Radcliffe turn up with amusing reminiscences of those times. But the most striking sections are those that claw away some of the Sidebottom lore.


An essential watch for both fans and for newcomers to Frankology.

Sunday 12th May
06:00 pm
Tuesday 23rd April
07:30 pm
Wednesday 24th April
01:00 pm
Wednesday 24th April
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Monday 29th April
07:30 pm
Tuesday 7th May
12:00 pm
Tuesday 7th May
07:30 pm
Thursday 16th May
02:00 pm
Friday 26th April
05:00 pm
Friday 26th April
09:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 28th April
01:00 pm
Last Few Seats
Wednesday 1st May
07:30 pm
Sunday 5th May
01:00 pm
Monday 6th May
07:30 pm
Wednesday 15th May
01:00 pm
Saturday 27th April
02:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Saturday 27th April
07:00 pm
Thursday 2nd May
07:30 pm
Wednesday 8th May
01:00 pm
Friday 3rd May
05:00 pm
Saturday 4th May
02:00 pm
Sunday 5th May
06:00 pm
Monday 6th May
02:00 pm
Friday 10th May
05:00 pm
Saturday 11th May
02:00 pm
Tuesday 28th May
12:00 pm
Friday 3rd May
09:00 pm
Saturday 4th May
07:00 pm
Thursday 9th May
02:00 pm
Thursday 9th May
07:30 pm
Tuesday 14th May
12:00 pm
Sunday 12th May
01:00 pm
Thursday 16th May
07:30 pm
Monday 13th May
02:00 pm
Monday 13th May
07:30 pm
Wednesday 15th May
07:30 pm
Monday 20th May
07:30 pm
Friday 17th May
05:00 pm
Saturday 18th May
02:00 pm
Sunday 19th May
06:00 pm
Monday 20th May
02:00 pm
Tuesday 21st May
07:30 pm
Wednesday 22nd May
01:00 pm
Thursday 23rd May
07:30 pm
Friday 17th May
09:15 pm
Saturday 18th May
07:00 pm
Sunday 19th May
01:00 pm
Thursday 23rd May
02:00 pm
Monday 27th May
07:30 pm
Tuesday 21st May
12:00 pm
Saturday 25th May
05:00 pm
Friday 24th May
05:00 pm
Saturday 25th May
09:00 pm
Sunday 26th May
01:00 pm
Monday 27th May
02:00 pm
Thursday 30th May
08:15 pm
Saturday 25th May
01:00 pm
Tuesday 28th May
07:30 pm
Thursday 30th May
05:00 pm
Wednesday 29th May
01:00 pm
Friday 31st May
02:00 pm
Wednesday 29th May
07:30 pm
Thursday 30th May
12:00 pm