Approx advert and trailer run time: 25m


Film run time: 2hr 2m

A failure on its original release, Alfred Hitchcock’s masterpiece has since gathered acclaim as the proverbial greatest film ever made.


After inadvertedly causing the death of a colleague, acrophobic detective Scottie Ferguson (James Stewart) retires from the police force, but is lured onto another assignment by an old friend, who claims that his wife, Madeline (Kim Novak), is possessed by an ancestor’s ghost.


Scottie tracks her across San Francisco and soon falls in love, but Madeline’s predicament proves to be more complex than it seems and threatens to engulf them both. Starting as a neat and theatrical detective plot, the film grows into a beautiful and unsettling love story, which meditates on the nature and morality of fantasy (and film itself) without ever losing dramatic momentum or interest.


The full effect of the film’s many meanings may only come to light on repeated viewings – but if you have never seen it, there can be no better place to start than in a cinema.

Sunday 26th August
05:00 pm
Tuesday 21st August
07:30 pm
Wednesday 22nd August
02:00 pm
Sold Out
Wednesday 22nd August
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Monday 27th August
05:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Tuesday 28th August
07:30 pm
Single Seats Only
Sunday 2nd September
05:00 pm
Monday 3rd September
02:00 pm
Monday 3rd September
07:30 pm
Tuesday 4th September
12:00 pm
Tuesday 4th September
07:30 pm
Wednesday 5th September
01:00 pm
Tuesday 18th September
12:00 pm
Saturday 22nd September
07:00 pm
Thursday 23rd August
02:00 pm
Saturday 29th September
02:00 pm
Thursday 23rd August
08:00 pm
Friday 24th August
09:00 pm
Saturday 25th August
02:00 pm
Sunday 26th August
01:00 pm
Wednesday 29th August
02:00 pm
Friday 31st August
02:00 pm
Saturday 25th August
08:00 pm
Sunday 26th August
05:00 pm
Wednesday 29th August
07:30 pm
Thursday 30th August
02:00 pm
Thursday 30th August
08:00 pm
Friday 31st August
08:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 1st September
07:00 pm
Friday 7th September
08:00 pm
Sunday 9th September
01:00 pm
Saturday 1st September
02:00 pm
Sunday 2nd September
01:00 pm
Thursday 6th September
08:00 pm
Saturday 8th September
07:00 pm
Saturday 15th September
07:00 pm
Wednesday 5th September
07:30 pm
Thursday 6th September
02:00 pm
Tuesday 11th September
07:30 pm
Sunday 9th September
06:00 pm
Monday 10th September
02:00 pm
Monday 10th September
07:30 pm
Tuesday 11th September
12:00 pm
Wednesday 12th September
01:00 pm
Wednesday 12th September
07:30 pm
Thursday 13th September
02:00 pm
Friday 14th September
08:00 pm
+ Intro and Q and A
Thursday 13th September
08:00 pm
+ Intro and Q and A
Saturday 15th September
02:00 pm
Sunday 16th September
01:00 pm
Sunday 16th September
05:00 pm
Wednesday 19th September
01:00 pm
Saturday 22nd September
02:00 pm
Sunday 23rd September
01:00 pm
Monday 17th September
02:00 pm
Wednesday 19th September
07:30 pm
Monday 17th September
07:30 pm
Tuesday 18th September
07:30 pm
Thursday 20th September
02:00 pm
Thursday 20th September
08:00 pm
Friday 21st September
08:00 pm
Sunday 23rd September
06:00 pm
Monday 24th September
02:00 pm
Monday 24th September
07:30 pm
+ Intro and post film discussion
Tuesday 25th September
12:00 pm
Wednesday 26th September
01:00 pm
Friday 28th September
06:00 pm
Sunday 30th September
01:00 pm
Sunday 30th September
06:00 pm
Tuesday 25th September
07:30 pm
+ Intro
Wednesday 26th September
07:30 pm
Thursday 27th September
02:00 pm
Thursday 27th September
08:00 pm
Friday 28th September
09:30 pm
+ Intro
Saturday 29th September
07:00 pm