Run time: 105 mins

Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins

Film run time: 1h 45m

This epic silent film tells the ravishing, romantic story behind the Taj Mahal.

Based on the romance between 17th-century Mughal ruler Shah Jahan and his queen, this epic silent film is the ravishing, romantic tale behind the creation of one of the world’s most iconic structures: the Taj Mahal.


Shot entirely on location in India, it features lavish costumes and gorgeous settings – all the more impressive in this restoration by the BFI National Archive which features a specially commissioned score by the Grammy Award-winning Anoushka Shankar.


Produced by and starring Indian film legend Himansu Rai, the film is performed by an all-Indian cast, featuring Rai as humble potter Shiraz, who follows his childhood sweetheart Selima (Enakshi Rama Rau) when she’s sold by slave traders to the future emperor (Charu Roy).

It is thought that only around 25 or so films survive from the silent era of Indian cinema. This recent restoration deserved its place back on the big screen and is a gem to behold.

Monday 19th March
02:00 pm
Monday 19th March
07:30 pm
Saturday 24th February
07:00 pm
SOLD OUT
Monday 26th February
02:00 pm
Tuesday 27th February
12:00 pm
Tuesday 27th February
07:30 pm
SOLD OUT
Wednesday 28th February
07:30 pm
SINGLE SEATS ONLY
Sunday 4th March
01:00 pm
Sunday 4th March
05:00 pm
UPSTAIRS AVAILABLE
Monday 5th March
02:00 pm
Monday 5th March
07:30 pm
Sunday 25th February
11:00 am
SOLD OUT
Sunday 25th February
03:00 pm
SOLD OUT
Sunday 25th February
07:00 pm
SOLD OUT
Thursday 1st March
02:00 pm
Thursday 1st March
07:30 pm
SINGLE SEATS ONLY
Monday 12th March
02:00 pm
Tuesday 20th March
12:00 pm
Monday 26th February
07:30 pm
Wednesday 28th February
02:00 pm
Friday 2nd March
07:30 pm
SINGLE SEATS ONLY
Saturday 3rd March
07:00 pm
SOLD OUT
Monday 12th March
07:30 pm
SINGLE SEATS ONLY
Thursday 15th March
02:00 pm
Saturday 3rd March
02:00 pm
Friday 30th March
03:00 pm
Tuesday 6th March
12:00 pm
Tuesday 6th March
07:30 pm
SINGLE SEATS ONLY
Wednesday 7th March
02:00 pm
Wednesday 7th March
07:30 pm
Thursday 8th March
02:00 pm
Thursday 8th March
07:30 pm
Sunday 11th March
07:00 pm
Friday 9th March
07:30 pm
Saturday 10th March
07:00 pm
Tuesday 13th March
12:00 pm
Tuesday 13th March
07:30 pm
Wednesday 14th March
02:00 pm
Wednesday 14th March
07:30 pm
Saturday 10th March
03:00 pm
Sunday 11th March
11:00 am
Sunday 11th March
03:00 pm
Thursday 29th March
11:00 am
Thursday 15th March
07:30 pm
Friday 16th March
07:30 pm
UPSTAIRS AVAILABLE
Saturday 17th March
07:00 pm
UPSTAIRS AVAILABLE
Sunday 18th March
01:00 pm
Sunday 18th March
05:00 pm
Wednesday 21st March
02:00 pm
*HOH Screening*
Saturday 17th March
02:00 pm
Sunday 25th March
12:00 pm
Monday 19th March
02:00 pm
Monday 19th March
07:30 pm
Tuesday 20th March
07:30 pm
Wednesday 21st March
07:30 pm
Thursday 22nd March
02:00 pm
Thursday 22nd March
07:30 pm
Friday 23rd March
07:30 pm
UPSTAIRS AVAILABLE
Tuesday 27th March
12:00 pm
Saturday 24th March
02:00 pm
Saturday 24th March
07:00 pm
UPSTAIRS AVAILABLE
Sunday 25th March
04:30 pm
Monday 26th March
02:00 pm
Sunday 25th March
08:30 pm
UPSTAIRS AVAILABLE
Tuesday 27th March
07:30 pm
LAST FEW SEATS
Wednesday 28th March
02:00 pm
Wednesday 28th March
07:30 pm
UPSTAIRS AVAILABLE
Thursday 29th March
03:00 pm
Friday 30th March
07:30 pm
Saturday 31st March
02:00 pm
Saturday 31st March
07:00 pm
UPSTAIRS AVAILABLE