Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 1hr 56m

Part of the ‘A Cinematic Odyssey: Postcards from Europe’ strand.


Roberto Benigni’s daring decision to set a comedy-drama against the backdrop of fascism pays off in this ingenuous Italian classic, now widely regarded as a masterpiece.


Jewish Italian Guido Orefice (Benigni) lives a blameless life as a waiter in the Kingdom of Italy. After winning over Dora (Nicoletta Braschi) with his good-hearted nature, the pair marry and have a son, Joshua (Giorgio Cantarini), and for many years live an idyllic life running a bookshop together.


But then, on Joshua’s birthday, armed thugs burst in and take them to a concentration camp. With Dora in a separate compound, it falls to the irreverent Guido to protect his son. By repurposing his gift for jokes and high jinks, he sets up an elaborate world of make-belief for Joshua in a heroic attempt to insulate him from the horrors all around them.


The Italian public adored Benigni’s work so much they came to regard him as a national hero, while Pope Jean Paul II famously placed the movie in his top five. It is easy to understand why. Life Is Beautiful is deeply humane, somehow recovering decency and innocence from history’s most nightmarish catastrophe.


The film will be introduced by Dr Paul Sutton, who will stay for the end of the film for a post-screening discussion in the front-tier of the downstairs seating area.

Sunday 27th January
06:00 pm
Sunday 20th January
01:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 9th February
02:00 pm
Tuesday 19th February
07:30 pm
Sunday 20th January
06:00 pm
Sold Out
Tuesday 22nd January
12:00 pm
Tuesday 22nd January
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Friday 25th January
05:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 26th January
07:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Sunday 27th January
01:00 pm
Sold Out
Tuesday 29th January
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Saturday 2nd February
02:00 pm
Sunday 3rd February
01:00 pm
Sunday 3rd February
06:00 pm
Friday 15th February
05:00 pm
Wednesday 20th February
01:00 pm
Saturday 23rd February
01:00 pm
Monday 21st January
02:00 pm
Warning - no babies for 15 Cert.
Monday 21st January
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Wednesday 23rd January
01:00 pm
Wednesday 23rd January
07:30 pm
Thursday 24th January
02:00 pm
Thursday 31st January
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Friday 1st February
07:30 pm
Last Few Seats
Monday 4th February
02:00 pm
Monday 4th February
07:30 pm
Wednesday 6th February
01:00 pm
Wednesday 6th February
07:30 pm
Thursday 24th January
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Friday 25th January
09:00 pm
+ intro
Saturday 26th January
02:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Monday 28th January
07:30 pm
Wednesday 30th January
07:30 pm
Saturday 2nd February
07:00 pm
Tuesday 5th February
12:00 pm
Thursday 7th February
07:30 pm
Tuesday 5th February
07:30 pm
Thursday 7th February
02:00 pm
Friday 8th February
07:30 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 9th February
07:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Sunday 10th February
01:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 24th February
06:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Thursday 28th February
02:00 pm
Sunday 10th February
06:00 pm
Monday 11th February
02:00 pm
Wednesday 13th February
01:00 pm
Wednesday 13th February
07:30 pm
Tuesday 12th February
12:00 pm
Tuesday 12th February
07:30 pm
Saturday 16th February
07:00 pm
Thursday 14th February
05:00 pm
Friday 15th February
09:00 pm
Sunday 17th February
01:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Monday 18th February
02:00 pm
Wednesday 20th February
07:30 pm
Monday 25th February
02:00 pm
Monday 25th February
07:30 pm
Thursday 28th February
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Tuesday 19th February
12:00 pm
Thursday 21st February
05:00 pm
Friday 22nd February
05:00 pm
Friday 22nd February
09:00 pm
Sunday 24th February
01:00 pm
Tuesday 26th February
12:00 pm
Tuesday 26th February
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Saturday 23rd February
09:30 pm
Wednesday 27th February
01:00 pm
Wednesday 27th February
07:30 pm