Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 1hr 31m

This cult romantic comedy classic from the New Hollywood era makes for the perfect alternative Valentine’s Day movie.


A box-office failure at the time of its release, but enamoured as an iconic comedy since (currently voted 45th funniest film of all time by the AFI), Harold and Maude follows the blossoming romance between death-obsessed young 20-year old Harold (Bud Cort) and the older Maude (Academy Award winner Ruth Gordon) who is about to turn 80.


In an attempt to distance himself from his oppressive mother’s (Vivian Pickles) attempts to marry him off into society, Harold fakes his own death time and time again – for kicks. After meeting the free-spirited Maude at a funeral service – she begins to teach him a new appreciation for love and living life to its fullest.


Director Hal Ashby’s (Shampoo (1975)) film is born from the New Hollywood-style of direction, and is filled with an independent aesthetic, dead-pan humour and the fresh, often darkly surreal, spirit of the age. Featuring a wistful soundtrack by Cat Stevens (‘If You Want to Sing Out, Sing Out’) and a warm, hilarious performance from Gordon (who previous won an Oscar for her portrayal of the interfering Satan-worshipping neighbour in Rosemary’s Baby (1968)) this is a black comedy romance with an existential edge for those that are too sour for Valentine’s schmaltz.


This screening will include a very short (but sweet) introduction on alternative Valentine’s films by Dr Darren Elliott-Smith.



Sunday 17th February
06:00 pm
Sunday 20th January
01:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 9th February
02:00 pm
Tuesday 19th February
07:30 pm
Sunday 20th January
06:00 pm
Sold Out
Tuesday 22nd January
12:00 pm
Tuesday 22nd January
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Friday 25th January
05:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 26th January
07:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Sunday 27th January
01:00 pm
Sold Out
Tuesday 29th January
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Saturday 2nd February
02:00 pm
Sunday 3rd February
01:00 pm
Sunday 3rd February
06:00 pm
Friday 15th February
05:00 pm
Wednesday 20th February
01:00 pm
Saturday 23rd February
01:00 pm
Monday 21st January
02:00 pm
Warning - no babies for 15 Cert.
Monday 21st January
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Wednesday 23rd January
01:00 pm
Wednesday 23rd January
07:30 pm
Thursday 24th January
02:00 pm
Thursday 31st January
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Friday 1st February
07:30 pm
Last Few Seats
Monday 4th February
02:00 pm
Monday 4th February
07:30 pm
Wednesday 6th February
01:00 pm
Wednesday 6th February
07:30 pm
Thursday 24th January
07:30 pm
Sold Out
Friday 25th January
09:00 pm
+ intro
Saturday 26th January
02:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Monday 28th January
07:30 pm
Wednesday 30th January
07:30 pm
Saturday 2nd February
07:00 pm
Tuesday 5th February
12:00 pm
Thursday 7th February
07:30 pm
Tuesday 5th February
07:30 pm
Thursday 7th February
02:00 pm
Friday 8th February
07:30 pm
Single Seats Only
Saturday 9th February
07:00 pm
Single Seats Only
Sunday 10th February
01:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Sunday 24th February
06:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Thursday 28th February
02:00 pm
Sunday 10th February
06:00 pm
Monday 11th February
02:00 pm
Wednesday 13th February
01:00 pm
Wednesday 13th February
07:30 pm
Tuesday 12th February
12:00 pm
Tuesday 12th February
07:30 pm
Saturday 16th February
07:00 pm
Thursday 14th February
05:00 pm
Friday 15th February
09:00 pm
Sunday 17th February
01:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Monday 18th February
02:00 pm
Wednesday 20th February
07:30 pm
Monday 25th February
02:00 pm
Monday 25th February
07:30 pm
Thursday 28th February
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Tuesday 19th February
12:00 pm
Thursday 21st February
05:00 pm
Friday 22nd February
05:00 pm
Friday 22nd February
09:00 pm
Sunday 24th February
01:00 pm
Tuesday 26th February
12:00 pm
Tuesday 26th February
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Saturday 23rd February
09:30 pm
Wednesday 27th February
01:00 pm
Wednesday 27th February
07:30 pm