Run time: 100 mins

Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 1h 40m


Set against the backdrop of working men’s clubs and the stand-up comedy circuit of the north of England, Funny Cow features a star turn from Maxine Peake, as a young woman taking on the unenviable task of winning over some particularly misogynistic audiences with her comedy.


As the name suggests, this film will certainly make you laugh, but it has plenty to say about the poverty of the 1970s north. Peake’s character, who we only ever hear called by her stage name, grows up in Rotherham, where she finds life is “too much and never enough at the same time.” We see her successful adulthood juxtaposed with her painful childhood — raised by an abusive father, leading to an abusive partner.


She finds solace in a distinctly more middle class lover in Angus (Paddy Considine) as her increasing confidence in comedy takes her further away from her old life. Peake’s stand-up routine is decidedly non-PC, and director Adrian Shergold takes us on a fascinating journey as she goes from hostile working men’s clubs, to sold out shows in a sparkling dress.


A wonderful and unique bit of British cinema.


Thursday 7th June
02:00 pm
Thursday 7th June
07:30 pm
Thursday 24th May
02:00 pm
Thursday 24th May
07:30 pm
Friday 25th May
07:30 pm
UPSTAIRS AVAILABLE
Saturday 26th May
07:00 pm
Saturday 26th May
02:00 pm
Monday 28th May
05:00 pm
Wednesday 30th May
01:00 pm
Tuesday 29th May
12:00 pm
Wednesday 30th May
07:30 pm
Thursday 31st May
07:30 pm
Saturday 2nd June
07:00 pm
Thursday 31st May
02:00 pm
Saturday 2nd June
02:00 pm
Sunday 3rd June
12:00 pm
Wednesday 6th June
07:30 pm
Sunday 3rd June
05:00 pm
Subtitled version
Saturday 9th June
02:00 pm
Dubbed version
Monday 4th June
02:00 pm
Monday 4th June
07:30 pm
Wednesday 6th June
01:00 pm
Sunday 10th June
12:00 pm
Sunday 10th June
05:00 pm
Thursday 28th June
02:00 pm
Tuesday 5th June
12:00 pm
Tuesday 5th June
07:30 pm
Thursday 7th June
02:00 pm
Thursday 7th June
07:30 pm
Friday 8th June
07:30 pm
Saturday 9th June
07:00 pm
Monday 11th June
02:00 pm
Monday 11th June
07:30 pm
Tuesday 12th June
12:00 pm
Tuesday 12th June
07:30 pm
Wednesday 13th June
01:00 pm
Wednesday 13th June
07:30 pm
Thursday 14th June
02:00 pm
Thursday 14th June
07:30 pm
Friday 15th June
07:30 pm
Saturday 16th June
02:00 pm
Saturday 16th June
07:00 pm
Sunday 17th June
01:00 pm
Thursday 21st June
07:30 pm
Sunday 17th June
06:00 pm
Monday 18th June
02:00 pm
Tuesday 19th June
12:00 pm
Tuesday 19th June
07:30 pm
Wednesday 20th June
01:00 pm
Wednesday 20th June
07:30 pm
Friday 22nd June
07:30 pm
Saturday 23rd June
07:00 pm
Saturday 23rd June
02:00 pm
Sunday 24th June
01:00 pm
Monday 25th June
02:00 pm
Tuesday 26th June
07:30 pm
Monday 25th June
07:30 pm
Wednesday 27th June
01:00 pm
Tuesday 26th June
12:00 pm
Wednesday 27th June
07:30 pm
Friday 29th June
07:30 pm
Saturday 30th June
02:00 pm
Saturday 30th June
07:00 pm