Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 1h 30m
+ Intro: 5 minutes
+ Post film Discussion: 30 minutes


A Cinematic Odyssey – Postcards from Europe

Follow this strand for a monthly selection of carefully curated French and Italian films.

With intro and post-film discussion from Dr Paul Sutton

As the critically acclaimed auteur ‎Agnès Varda turns 90, we celebrate her remarkable career with a pair of spectacular screenings. In September we bring Varda’s pioneering Cléo from 5 to 7 from 1962.


Associated with the so-called ‘Young Turks’ of the French New Wave – Truffaut, Godard and Chabrol – Varda was in fact a pioneer of this important moment in French cinema history. Her first feature, La Pointe Courte (1954), written, produced and shot by Varda, introduced the freewheeling visual style and the playful narrative structure that was to become a signature of the movement.


Cleo From 5 to 7 is rightly seen as a key film of the French New Wave but it is at the same time a quintessentially Varda film, both highly personal but also politically powerful, a feminist city film that captures the spirit of 1960s France.


Charting two hours in the life of its heroine, Cleo (Corrine Marchand), as she awaits medical test results, the film allows for a reflection on life, death and a whole host of things in between.


Next month we will screen Varda’s latest feature, the wonderfully warm and affecting Faces Places, on Monday 22nd October – On sale dates TBA). This Cannes winning and Oscar-nominated documentary sees Varda forge an unlikely partnership with enigmatic photographer JR, as they embark on a road trip unlike any other.


Both of Varda’s films will be introduced by Dr Paul Sutton, who will stay for the end of the film for a post-screening discussion in the front-tier of the Downstairs seating area.



Monday 24th September
07:30 pm
Monday 24th September
07:30 pm
+ Intro and post film discussion
Tuesday 25th September
12:00 pm
Wednesday 26th September
01:00 pm
Friday 28th September
06:00 pm
Sunday 30th September
01:00 pm
Sunday 30th September
06:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Monday 1st October
07:30 pm
Tuesday 2nd October
12:00 pm
Tuesday 2nd October
07:30 pm
Thursday 4th October
02:00 pm
Thursday 11th October
02:00 pm
Tuesday 25th September
07:30 pm
+ Intro
Wednesday 26th September
07:30 pm
Upstairs Available
Thursday 27th September
02:00 pm
Thursday 27th September
08:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Thursday 4th October
07:30 pm
Friday 28th September
09:30 pm
+ Intro
Saturday 29th September
02:00 pm
Upstairs Available
Saturday 13th October
02:00 pm
Saturday 29th September
07:00 pm
Wednesday 3rd October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 3rd October
07:30 pm
Sunday 7th October
05:00 pm
Friday 5th October
08:00 pm
Saturday 6th October
02:00 pm
Thursday 25th October
02:00 pm
Monday 29th October
07:30 pm
Sunday 7th October
01:00 pm
Monday 8th October
02:00 pm
Thursday 11th October
07:30 pm
Tuesday 9th October
12:00 pm
Tuesday 9th October
07:30 pm
Wednesday 10th October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 10th October
07:30 pm
Friday 12th October
08:00 pm
Saturday 13th October
07:00 pm
Monday 15th October
02:00 pm
Sunday 14th October
01:00 pm
Tuesday 16th October
12:00 pm
Wednesday 17th October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 17th October
07:30 pm
Thursday 18th October
07:30 pm
Monday 15th October
07:30 pm
Tuesday 16th October
07:30 pm
Thursday 18th October
02:00 pm
Friday 19th October
08:00 pm
Sunday 21st October
01:00 pm
Sunday 21st October
06:00 pm
Sunday 28th October
06:00 pm
Saturday 20th October
07:30 pm
Tuesday 23rd October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 24th October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 24th October
07:30 pm
Friday 26th October
05:00 pm
Tuesday 30th October
01:00 pm
Tuesday 23rd October
07:30 pm
Friday 26th October
09:00 pm
Saturday 27th October
11:00 am
Monday 29th October
02:00 pm
Saturday 27th October
07:00 pm
Tuesday 30th October
07:30 pm
Wednesday 31st October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 31st October
08:00 pm