Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 1hr 34m


Over 40 years after its first release, Brian de Palma’s barnstorming adaptation of Stephen King’s first novel (beginning his now-enormous list of contributions to horror cinema) is no less energetic or frightening with age.


Due to a mercilessly cruel and sheltered upbringing at the hands of her violently repressive fundamentalist mother (Piper Laurie), Carrie White (Sissy Spacek) is an extremely timid and unworldly girl, tormented even further by her classmates. One sympathetic student, Sue Snell (Amy Irving) attempts to improve Carrie’s life by getting her a prom date, just as another girl, Chris Hargensen (Nancy Allen) schemes to ruin the event for Carrie. At the same time, Carrie’s sense of powerlessness takes on a strong and dangerous form -she is suddenly able to manipulate the world around her with her mind.


With both committed performances and vivid editing (rather than distracting special effects), De Palma carefully builds tension by convincingly capturing the discomfort and hysteria of an especially downtrodden teenage girl, and then releases it in famously spectacular and visceral fashion, more than justifying the film’s position as a horror landmark.

This very special screening will have a short introduction from Dr Darren Elliott-Smith.

Wednesday 31st October
08:00 pm
Monday 15th October
02:00 pm
Monday 15th October
07:30 pm
Tuesday 16th October
12:00 pm
Wednesday 17th October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 17th October
07:30 pm
Upstairs Only
Thursday 18th October
07:30 pm
Upstairs Only
Wednesday 7th November
01:00 pm
Wednesday 7th November
07:30 pm
Tuesday 16th October
07:30 pm
Thursday 18th October
02:00 pm
Tuesday 13th November
12:00 pm
Tuesday 13th November
07:30 pm
Friday 19th October
08:00 pm
Upstairs Only
Sunday 21st October
01:00 pm
Sunday 21st October
06:00 pm
Sunday 28th October
06:00 pm
Thursday 1st November
02:00 pm
Friday 2nd November
08:00 pm
Saturday 20th October
07:30 pm
Tuesday 23rd October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 24th October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 24th October
07:30 pm
Friday 26th October
05:00 pm
Tuesday 30th October
01:00 pm
Tuesday 23rd October
07:30 pm
Thursday 25th October
02:00 pm
Monday 29th October
07:30 pm
Thursday 1st November
07:30 pm
Friday 26th October
09:00 pm
Saturday 27th October
11:00 am
Monday 29th October
02:00 pm
Saturday 27th October
02:30 pm
Upstairs Only
Saturday 27th October
07:00 pm
Tuesday 30th October
07:30 pm
Thursday 8th November
12:00 pm
Wednesday 31st October
01:00 pm
Wednesday 31st October
08:00 pm
Friday 2nd November
02:00 pm
Saturday 3rd November
02:00 pm
Sunday 4th November
01:00 pm
Sunday 4th November
05:00 pm
Saturday 10th November
02:00 pm
Saturday 24th November
02:00 pm
Saturday 3rd November
07:00 pm
Monday 5th November
02:00 pm
Monday 5th November
07:30 pm
Tuesday 6th November
12:00 pm
Tuesday 6th November
07:30 pm
Monday 12th November
07:30 pm
Wednesday 14th November
01:00 pm
Thursday 29th November
02:00 pm
Friday 9th November
08:00 pm
Saturday 10th November
07:00 pm
Sunday 11th November
01:00 pm
Sunday 11th November
08:15 pm
Wednesday 21st November
01:00 pm
Monday 26th November
02:00 pm
Wednesday 28th November
07:30 pm
Sunday 11th November
05:00 pm
Monday 12th November
02:00 pm
Wednesday 14th November
07:30 pm
Saturday 17th November
09:00 pm
Thursday 15th November
02:00 pm
Thursday 15th November
07:30 pm
Friday 16th November
08:00 pm
Saturday 17th November
05:00 pm
Sunday 18th November
01:00 pm
Sunday 18th November
06:00 pm
Monday 19th November
02:00 pm
Tuesday 20th November
12:00 pm
Wednesday 21st November
07:30 pm
Saturday 17th November
12:00 pm
Tuesday 20th November
07:30 pm
Thursday 22nd November
02:00 pm
Thursday 22nd November
07:30 pm
Friday 23rd November
05:45 pm
Saturday 24th November
07:00 pm
Sunday 25th November
01:00 pm
Sunday 25th November
06:00 pm
Tuesday 27th November
07:30 pm
Friday 30th November
05:15 pm
Friday 30th November
08:45 pm
Friday 23rd November
09:30 pm
Monday 26th November
07:30 pm
Tuesday 27th November
12:00 pm