Run time: 134 mins

Approx advert and trailer run time: 25 mins


Film run time: 2h 14m

To mark its 50th anniversary, Warner Bros. is opening its archives’ pod bay doors to present a theatrical re-release of this sci-fi masterpiece; it’s fitting that we should give homage to the film that inspired our cinema’s name.

Tonight’s performance will be introduced by a very special guest.


2001 is an epic film in every sense, from the lush visuals to the ground-breaking effects and makeup (famously 2001 missed out on the Oscar for Best Makeup, largely because the academy voters failed to realise the apes in the first scenes were actors in costume) to the scope of the story. Kubrick made a film about nothing less than the evolution of humankind.

We start with the dawning of human intelligence as our ancestors first learn to use tools, before leaping forward to our tentative first forays into space, and end with another evolutionary step into the unknown. A parallel story runs through the film with the burgeoning consciousness of artificial intelligence in the form of HAL 9000, the ship’s computer. With his self-awareness comes a desire for self-preservation.

The film is at times languorous, dreamy and psychedelic. There are decidedly two meanings to the film’s tagline: “The ultimate trip.”


P.S. One of the chairs in this cinema has a plaque bearing Stanley Kubrick’s name. Have you found it yet?

Please note:
First Half 1 hour 30 minutes

*15mins intermission*

Second Half: 1 hour



Friday 1st June
07:30 pm
Thursday 24th May
02:00 pm
Thursday 24th May
07:30 pm
Friday 25th May
07:30 pm
UPSTAIRS AVAILABLE
Saturday 26th May
07:00 pm
Saturday 26th May
02:00 pm
Monday 28th May
05:00 pm
Wednesday 30th May
01:00 pm
Tuesday 29th May
12:00 pm
Wednesday 30th May
07:30 pm
Thursday 31st May
07:30 pm
Saturday 2nd June
07:00 pm
Thursday 31st May
02:00 pm
Saturday 2nd June
02:00 pm
Sunday 3rd June
12:00 pm
Wednesday 6th June
07:30 pm
Sunday 3rd June
05:00 pm
Subtitled version
Saturday 9th June
02:00 pm
Dubbed version
Monday 4th June
02:00 pm
Monday 4th June
07:30 pm
Wednesday 6th June
01:00 pm
Sunday 10th June
12:00 pm
Sunday 10th June
05:00 pm
Thursday 28th June
02:00 pm
Tuesday 5th June
12:00 pm
Tuesday 5th June
07:30 pm
Thursday 7th June
02:00 pm
Thursday 7th June
07:30 pm
Friday 8th June
07:30 pm
Saturday 9th June
07:00 pm
Monday 11th June
02:00 pm
Monday 11th June
07:30 pm
Tuesday 12th June
12:00 pm
Tuesday 12th June
07:30 pm
Wednesday 13th June
01:00 pm
Wednesday 13th June
07:30 pm
Thursday 14th June
02:00 pm
Thursday 14th June
07:30 pm
Friday 15th June
07:30 pm
Saturday 16th June
02:00 pm
Saturday 16th June
07:00 pm
Sunday 17th June
01:00 pm
Thursday 21st June
07:30 pm
Sunday 17th June
06:00 pm
Monday 18th June
02:00 pm
Tuesday 19th June
12:00 pm
Tuesday 19th June
07:30 pm
Wednesday 20th June
01:00 pm
Wednesday 20th June
07:30 pm
Friday 22nd June
07:30 pm
Saturday 23rd June
07:00 pm
Saturday 23rd June
02:00 pm
Sunday 24th June
01:00 pm
Monday 25th June
02:00 pm
Tuesday 26th June
07:30 pm
Monday 25th June
07:30 pm
Wednesday 27th June
01:00 pm
Tuesday 26th June
12:00 pm
Wednesday 27th June
07:30 pm
Friday 29th June
07:30 pm
Saturday 30th June
02:00 pm
Saturday 30th June
07:00 pm